Exploring Social Connectedness in the Blogosphere

I love the writings of Alex Lickerman. He blogs at Happiness in this World: Reflections of a Buddhist Physician. The first piece of his I ever read was “How I Met and Married My Wife.”  I appreciated his willingness to think deeply about why he was hesitating to marry an amazing woman that he intellectually knew would make a wonderful wife.  I admired his ability to examine his own motivations and needs, analyze them, and grow.

And they live happily ever after.

He provides insight into the human condition, what brings us together and holds us apart.

Another of my favorite posts of his is about kenzoku, translated literally as “family.” He defines it as “a bond between people who’ve made a similar commitment and who possibly therefore share a similar destiny.”

How do we attract and hold on to the people who share our interests and values, who seek the best for us and bring out the best in us?

How do we grow into our own strength in this world?

On my “to read” list: his book, The Undefeated Mind: On the Science of Constructing an Indestructible Self.

Alex Lickerman's Book

Alex Lickerman’s Book

One thought on “Exploring Social Connectedness in the Blogosphere

  1. Ms. Jones, I’ve enjoyed the variety of health and social topics you’ve written about, sprinkled with the random viticulture and other sprinkles that make life fun. So I nominated you for a Liebster Award. It’s one part chain letter, one part Q&A that’s intended to build posting practice (similar to zero to hero, but less awesome). I had fun with it and thought you could too! Here’s the shortlink to my post for the instructions. http://wp.me/p4db2K-B. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

