How to leverage $1 billion to fix America’s health care crisis

Over on the Daily Post, they gave a writing prompt to bloggers–what would you do with $1billion?

My thought: how would I use that to fix our healthcare crisis?

Tongue in cheek:

1 billion dollars!

Wow. That’s lots of millions! 1000 millions, to be exact.  Three extra zeroes at the end of 1 million.

1,000,000

1,000,000,000

1 million seconds ago was about 11 days ago.

1 billion seconds ago was about 32 years ago.

With $1 billion, I’d start by taking care of my family. With one million dollars, we could build our dream home on the lot next to the park, and I could drop my dream child off at the neighborhood center across from the baseball field before walking to work. That dream child would cost maybe 1 million over a life time, college included. We’ll add another sibling, and call that $2 million to get the kids from conception to college graduation.

Take another $2 million to invest in retirement funds, and we’d be set for life.

And I would still have $995 million left to play around with.

That’s a lot of money. But nowhere near enough to pay down the $2.7 trillion that America spent on health care this year.

A trillion dollars!

That’s even more millions.

One million millions, to be exact. Six extra zeroes at the end of 1 million.

1,000,000,000,000

One trillion seconds ago was 32,000 YEARS ago.

Buddha, Jesus Christ, and Mohammed would be in the far far future.

We’d be in the early bronze age.

To stay healthy, I could make a bronze talisman, and shake it about.

Or I could wait 32 millenia, and live in the United States in the year 2013, where we have amazing health care, including vaccines and antibiotics and cancer therapeutics, for which we spend $2.7 trillion each year.

If I wanted to promote a healthier America with my $1 billion, I’d better start looking for a magic lamp to request an additional $2699 billion dollars to pay for America’s healthcare.

Here’s my plan on how to leverage $1billion to save America’s health care system.

Use the imaginary money to search for and buy an imaginary magic lamp to ask for more imaginary money to cover America’s healthcare costs. After getting my family set for life for $5million, I could take another $5 million to travel to every corner of the globe to scour every stall in every market for that magic lamp. I’d still have $990 million to buy that lamp whenever I did find it.

If I were to travel at $100/day, then 5 million dollars would buy me 136 years worth of travel for my search. Not bad.  Of course, by then, with an ongoing 4% rate of inflation in health care costs (our record-breaking low amount of increasing costs from 2013) our healthcare spending would be $559,626,032,674,399.25.  That’s $559.6 trillion, or 559,600 billion dollars.  Suddenly those numbers feel imaginary again. Too big to wrap a mind around. Luckily, I could ask for any imaginary amount.

So give me a billion dollars, and I’ll get back to you within 136 years with America’s health care solution—paid for with money that came out of nowhere!

Trying to keep up with rising health care costs with imaginary dollars is no solution, of course.  Hopefully Obamacare will work better—shifting incentives within our system to make sure people get the care they need when they need it, with free preventive visits to stay well. Health care costs will stop inflating, and we may live longer.

What would you do with your billion dollars?

What will you do to keep your health care costs down?

2 thoughts on “How to leverage $1 billion to fix America’s health care crisis

  1. What about paying off few tens of politicians to support anti-gun laws? That would be 500M$. Than you spend 490M$ to make them change patent laws so medical patents expire in 10 years. The remaining 5M$ you give me to make two more kids as smart as me 🙂 Actually, no need for that – I can do that for free – best things in life are free 🙂

Leave a Reply

