Prevention Not Prescription

I spend my days thinking about health–my own, my family’s, my patients’, community health, global health.

How to turn our sickcare system into a healthcare system.

How to make our medical care delivery system more effective and just.

How to support healthy individual behaviors, social behaviors, community structures.

How to integrate medicine in society to support health.

I believe that to transform our medical sick-care system to a true healthcare system, we need to understand and address the social and structural determinants of health.

With Prevention/Prescription, I will explore a new approach to medicine, health, healthcare, and caring, all encompassing.

Interdisciplinary. Intersectoral. Integrating biology, psychology and sociology to address individual health. Integrating medicine, education, justice, transportation, housing, agriculture, policing, energy, defense, parks and recreation to address population health.

I believe in prevention, not prescription.

2 thoughts on “Prevention Not Prescription

Leave a Reply

